Celebrate

Weekend with Mom

I think there’s a point in everyone’s life when they realize it does’t matter how old you are, you still need your mother. Whether it’s when you’re really sick, or when you need someone to stay overnight in the hospital with you, or even give you the perfect Valentine, I’m not sure anyone can do it better than Mom. Most weekends my mom jets off to her lakehouse. This weekend I lucked out because she decided to stay home while my stepdad did commodore stuff at the yacht club. We started off Friday night with this fabulous caprese salad appetizer.

My mom also helped me make some chocolate covered strawberries for my special Valentine. I’ve tried a lot of chocolate covered strawberries, and I still think my mom’s are the best! She coats the chocolate on extra thick so there’s a super hard shell. Here’s how to do it:

You can of course use different types of chocolate, but we used Almond Bark. We had a small container of strawberries, and 3 squares of Almond Bark worked perfectly. Start by heating the squares in the microwave for 40 seconds, then stir. Then pop it back in the microwave for another 20 seconds, and stir until it’s all smooth. The key is heating it in intervals.

Stir, stir, stir!

While the chocolate is heating, wash and dry the strawberries. My mom says the secret to great chocolate covered strawberries is making sure the strawberries are completely dry.

Once your chocolate is melted and the strawberries are dry, start dipping!

There you go! The perfect chocolate covered strawberries. They’re easy to make, and it means so much more when you make them yourself!

xoxo,

Christie

Talk to me!

