Celebrate

Be Mine!

Happy Valentine’s Day! Here are some quick and easy desserts in case you haven’t already planned something for tonight.

Chocolate Chess Pie. Did I make this beauty? Nope! I was crazy busy on Sunday with errands and a baby shower, and I had already committed to bringing dessert to a Valentine’s dinner, so I bought it from Central Market. It was only $11.99 and came with free homemade whip cream. Buying dessert was hard for me to do at first, but then I felt so liberated! And I had time for a mani/pedi since I wasn’t baking for two hours. I still don’t know what chocolate chess pie is, but it was light and airy and chocolately, but not too sweet. Perfect.

Chocolate Covered Strawberries. We’ve already been over this one. See my last post for a tutorial.

And last but not least, what I’ll be having tonight!

Aren’t the springform pans adorable? Those are from Target. Impulse buy. It’s a compilation of several recipes, but it’s basically a Chocolate-Raspberry Tart. My idea came from these magazines:

Living Without

Chocolate

I’ve been to the store entirely too much lately, and I forgot to buy raspberries, so I just mashed up some frozen ones for the ganache, and there won’t be any to make the tops pretty. But I do still have some free whip cream! The gingersnap crust didn’t catch my attention, so I changed that too. And since I was using the 3 little pans, I halved the recipe. Here’s what I did:

Crust:

About 1 1/4 cups walnuts

1/8 cup melted butter

1/8 cup brown sugar

Throw in the food processor. Coat pans with coconut oil. Press  down crust mixture in the bottoms of heart pans for a thin coating. Bake at 325 degrees for about 8 minutes. Let cool.

Filling:

1.5 cups frozen raspberries

1/4 lb. bittersweet chocolate

1/2 cup + 1/8 cup  heavy cream (I have trouble with halving so this is the best I could do)

tiny pinch of salt

The recipe said to pass the berries through a food mill or force them through a fine sieve. I didn’t have either so I mashed them through a colander. Pretty sure you’re supposed to take what’s left on bottom, but the goop on top looked better, so I took that. Definitely need to invest in a food mill.  Set aside.

Heat cream until just boiling. Pour over chopped chocolate. Whisk until smooth and melted. Add in raspberry puree. Pour mixture into cooled crust.

Refrigerate for about 1 hour. If you have raspberries, toss those on top to make it pretty!

Delish! Hope you have a fabulous Valentine’s Day!

xoxo,

Christie

P.S.- I totally wore this to work today:

Why? Because I can.

Talk to me!

