Houston, TX

Freedom

Spring Break. A teacher’s two favorite words. Even though the thought of spring break brings to mind pictures of sun, sand and palm trees, in reality, it’s 50 degrees and raining. Just like every year. After the fire drill, 30 minutes before the last bell, in the freezing rain, all I wanted was a sweet snack to make me feel like a kid on spring break. Koala Krispie Treats.

I’m sure you’ve made them before, but I changed the recipe a bit, mostly because I couldn’t find brown rice krispies at the store (I like those a lot better than the regular ones). So I used cocoa rice krispies instead. Here’s how the magic was created:

  • 3 ingredients: butter, marshmallows, cereal

  • Melt the butter, then toss in the mallows and stir, stir, stir!

  • Toss in half the cereal, stir, then stir in the rest.

  • Spread in a pan and throw in the frig so they’ll firm up faster.

Tired of regular rice krispies treats? Give the cocoa a try! And trust me, they are soooo much better when you make them at home. The packaged ones don’t compare, and if you get them from a restaurant, they always taste like plastic wrap! Let me know if you’ve made other variations that were good.

While the thought of lying on a beach somewhere sounds magical, my staycation sounds pretty fabulous too. I’m staying at a posh hotel in town and eating at a trendy restaurant that I’ve been dying to try, getting a massage at the Houstonian’s Trellis Spa, having Afternoon Tea with my mom, meeting my accountant, getting my car serviced, hopefully making a regular appearance at Memorial Athletic Club, and squeezing in a few other chores. How productive!

Stay posted for sb2k12 updates throughout the week. And if you’re a teacher, let me know about your plans! If you’re not a teacher, how much do you hate me right now?

xoxo,

Christie

Talk to me!

