Houston, TX

St. Regis Staycation

Day one of spring break staycation was a success! Stayed in bed till noon, got a mani/pedi, and headed off to the St. Regis for the night!

Changed into some workout gear and went down to the fitness facility. Worked out overlooking their gorgeous pool. Sadly, it was cold and raining, so the swim suits stayed packed.

Showered and lounged in my plush robe and slippers. Honestly, I booked the room solely based on the amazing bathroom I had experienced at the St. Regis in Atlanta. This one didn’t really compare, but I’m still not complaining. Their products are divine and smell delicious.

I’m pretty sure I was lounging on the dog bed that was originally intended for Mia (until I found an awesome dog sitter!). This dog bed  couch, was super comfy! Lucky dogs.

Since we had late reservations, we strolled down to the Remington Bar at the St. Regis. Good drinks. Stuffy bartender.

Next we headed over to the lounge at Philippe and waited for our table.

The decor seems very trendy, but there was a huge mix of people upstairs dining. Young, old, girls’ night out, businessmen. The restaurant is supposed to be a mix of Texas and French, and that’s exactly what it feels like. The menu was very interesting. We started with spicy duck confit tamales.

I decided to go with the salmon baked in rice paper with a broccoli pesto inside. Lots of flavor, and I liked the different textures with the crispy rice paper on the outside.

My handsome date ordered the pig in a “blanket.”

We lied to our sweet server and said we were too full for dessert because I really wanted to experience RDG + Bar Annie as well. We walked a few stores down, and there we were!

I must have said how pretty a dozen times in the half hour we were there. Fabulous interior design. You must go just to see it. There was a lot more energy at RDG + Bar Annie. Perfect for a coffee ice cream sundae stop. It was sooooo yummy!

Then it was goodnight sweet prince.

It was a grand getaway for the night, and I’m looking forward to our future staycations! Where’s your favorite place to get away?

xoxo,

Christie

Talk to me!

