Houston, TX

A new neighborhood

I’ve been MIA lately because I’ve been frantically searching for a place to live! And finally we found a place. After signing our lease, we decided we’d have dinner in our new neighborhood. The evening was gorgeous. Perfect for eating on the patio. D’Amico’s Italian Market Café has two Houston locations, and now I can confidently say they are both equally delicious and charming.

I had the Caprese Salad and E had the House Salad. The balsamic was thicker than I’m used to, but everything tasted fresh and all I had to do was scrape a little balsamic off and add a little olive oil, and I was good to go! E loved the house dressing and appreciated that they were generous with it.

Next up: the Risotto di Gamberi- jumbo shrimp sauteed and tossed with a Porcini and Shiitake mushroom cream sauce, served over risotto.

Our server was right on when she said it was “heavy.” It was also creamy and delicious.

E had the Stuffed Poblano Peppers- roasted poblano peppers stuffed with lump crabmeat, shrimp, ricotta cheese, shallots and garlic in a lemon butter white wine sauce.

And we of course had to order dessert! They have lots of gelato flavors to choose from. I couldn’t decide on one, so I got two! Why? Because I can. I ordered the chocolate and mascarpone cheese. Highly recommend the mascarpone cheese gelato. E had the tiramisu. It was yummy as well!

On our way out, we browsed through the market. The gelato…

We are so excited to begin exploring our new neighborhood! Stay tuned for more great Heights finds.

xoxo,

Christie

4 thoughts on “A new neighborhood

Talk to me!

