Houston, TX

The food tour begins

Since E compares our apartment to staying at summer camp (our kitchen is the size of my old closet), we’ve been eating out a lot more than usual. Plus, there are SO many fun, new restaurants to try in our new neighborhood! Tonight we went to the Big Mamou. It’s a bright yellow house on Studewood, and it is hard to miss. Their patio has been packed every time I’ve driven by, so I’ve been curious to try it.

It’s cajun food, and they’ve got a nice little gluten-free menu as well. I had the shrimp ‘n grits. Huge portion, nice flavor.

E had the muffaleta. Olives gross me out, so it sounded sick to me, but he liked it. The full order is actually like two whole sandwiches. Lunch tomorrow!

The reviews online are pretty accurate. E’s order took a lot longer than mine, but we weren’t in a hurry. The owner came out and talked to us for awhile, and our server was very attentive. They also have a large breakfast menu, which I’d like to try. Have you been to the Big Mamou? What did you think? I really enjoyed it!

xoxo,

Christie

Talk to me!

