Houston, TX

Downhouse with Mom

My mom and I had a party to go to in the neighborhood, so I talked her into coming a little early and having brunch with me. Downhouse is a cozy coffee shop/bar/restaurant on Yale Street in the Heights. E and I went to the bar one night, and after seeing the brunch menu, I was eager to try it.

The food was pretty good, but what really makes the place is the atmosphere. And they have lots of specialty cocktails and beers on tap. We both ordered the gouda sandwich. It had gouda, chevre, heirloom tomato, fried egg, and avocado on beer-buttered  rye bread; served open-faced with a cup of tomato bisque. My mom’s looked better because I ordered mine without bread, but I also ordered a side of bacon, and it was the thickest yummiest bacon I’ve ever had. The tomato bisque had a good texture and lots of flavor. And they use lots of local farmers, which I’m all for.

Downhouse is open from 7 am- 2 am daily. I recommend going any time you have a chance because it’s a pretty cool little place. Sit back, relax, and enjoy. I know I enjoyed my mother daughter time!

xoxo,

Christie

2 thoughts on “Downhouse with Mom

Talk to me!

