Travel

NOLA: Night One

As soon as work ended Friday, we were leaving on a jet plane to spend Memorial Day weekend in New Orleans. E’s parents are former locals, so they knew exactly where we needed to eat. Our first stop was Mother’s Restaurant. They said it was a local place, but then a local told us it was a tourist trap, so maybe things have changed, but it was still a fun experience. We strolled in about 9 pm, and walked right up to the counter to order. Good thing because I was huunngry.

I ordered the grilled calamari with a side of grits. E ordered the grilled shrimp po’ boy. Both of our orders came out fried (he ate his, I sent mine back). When I told the woman I asked for grilled, she looked at me like I was the first person to ever order it that way. And when it came out, it was just what I needed. The po’ boys looked good too, although I couldn’t get a pic of E’s in time.

Next we walked over to the Windsor Court Hotel to hear some live music. The band was playing on the second floor in the Polo Club Lounge. It was one of the few places in New Orleans that we went to, and I didn’t feel like I needed to take a shower after.

The music, atmosphere, and drinks were great. I had my first Moscow Mule, which is made with vodka, ginger syrup, lemon and lime juice, and soda. It was delicious and refreshing. They also offer tasty nuts, and E surprised me with a yummy creme brulee.

Apparently, lots of celebrities stay at this hotel, and we actually had a Sir Ben Kingsley sighting. In case you’re looking for a place to have Afternoon Tea, they have it here! I’d highly recommend the Polo Club Lounge. It was a fun night!

xoxo,

Christie

2 thoughts on “NOLA: Night One

Talk to me!

