Travel

Turtle soup, turtle soup: Commander’s Palace Brunch

Oh how I love my tuuurtle soup. Ohohoh turtle. My turtle soo-oo-oo-up. I’ve actually never had turtle soup, but I have to sing the song anytime it’s mentioned. Sunday morning. A little worn out and a lot hungry. It was about a five minute walk from the Marriott to the trolley stop. In case you’re wondering, the trolley comes every 15 minutes. We paid $3 each for the unlimited day pass. Make sure you bring exact change if you’re taking it.

I’m glad we took the trolley because it was fun getting to see all the pretty houses. It was about a 25 minute trip to our jazz brunch destination, Commander’s Palace.

I said in my day two NOLA post that our meal at Dickie Brennan’s Steakhouse was my favorite meal, but I think I actually have a tie. If you’re trying to eat gluten free in New Orleans, you have to eat here. At Dickie Brennan’s, they actually note which items are gluten free on their regular menu. Major bonus points. That would be the absolute only thing I’d change about Commander’s Palace. However, their servers and chefs are super knowledgeable about which items can be made gluten free, so it wasn’t a problem. I actually had dinner with one of the chefs at CP, and he said he likes the challenge of adapting menu items to be gluten free. And it shows. Most upscale restaurants will accommodate gluten-free diets, but they really just take away all the good stuff and leave you with a piece of grilled fish…for $30.  At Commander’s Palace, they substitute, and it’s just as good, if not better.

Soups & Appetizers:

I had the Shrimp and Tasso Henican (the gluten free version looked to be prepared the same way as the regular one). It was spicy!

The famous Turtle Soup

Oysters and Absinthe “Dome”

Entrées:

Eggs Lafayette: two poached eggs over slow braised duck with foie gras hollandaise (the gluten free version had grits on bottom, the regular version had  bread pudding). It was so rich and divine!

New Orleans Barbecued Shrimp & Grits

Pecan Crusted Gulf Fish (this one can also be made gluten free)

Desserts:

Originally I ordered A Tasting of European Chocolate. How delicious does that sound? Later, our server informed me that they add flour to the chocolate, but he said he could bring me a creme brulee even though it wasn’t on the menu.

Creme Brulee

Creole Bread Pudding Soufflé…it was torture not being able to order it!

Praline Parfait

Are you drooling yet? You must go if you haven’t been yet!

xoxo,

Christie

3 thoughts on “Turtle soup, turtle soup: Commander’s Palace Brunch

    • thanks! yes – totally different feel during brunch. always great service and food though! i also love how they wrap up leftovers in the foil animals!

  1. Pingback: Enjoy the food of New Orleans, but don’t forget to pack the TUMS! | THE TRIPPING BLONDE

Talk to me!

