Houston, TX

Get Hungry! It’s Houston Restaurant Weeks time.

It’s that time again. Houston Restaurant Weeks have begun! While I’m a few days late, you still have until August 31st to try out a number of great restaurants across Houston. Two-course lunches are $20 and three-course dinners are $35, and a portion is donated to the Houston Food Bank. While some think it’s an opportune time to check out a new place, if I’m spending $35 on a dinner, I want to know the restaurant will be amazing. My strategy is to choose a place I’ve already been to and had a good experience, and a restaurant where an entrée will typically cost around $30. Then you get your money’s worth.

You could spend all day looking over the participating restaurants’ menus, and they all look delicious. Here are my top 10 that I’d like to try:

1. Smith & Wollensky: menu

2. Capital Grille (for the dessert): menu

3. Eddie V’s- West Ave.: menu

4. Sorrel Urban Bistro: menu

5. Olivette @ The Houstonian: menu

6. Mockingbird Bistro: menu

7. Truluck’s: menu

8. Spindletop: menu

9. Churrascos – River Oaks: menu

10. Le Mistral: menu

I’ve just gotten into The Hunger Games, and it has really made me appreciate never going hungry. The purpose of Houston Restaurant Weeks is to help the hungry in Houston. To date, the event has raised more than $1.7 million to fight hunger. If you can’t make out it to the restaurants, there’s an option to donate $10 directly from the HRW website here.

Have you been to any participating restaurants yet? Tell me about it!

xoxo,

Christie

Talk to me!

