Celebrate

Ahoy, It’s a Boy! Baby Shower

Whew, I feel like I can breathe now! My sister’s sister-in-law and I planned this family baby shower for my sister. There were lots of emails, lots of pinning, lots of etsy shopping and a whole lot of thought put into this special day for her. Usually, she won’t let people fuss very much over her, so it was fun to spoil her for an afternoon.

Ahoy

She has a nautical-themed nursery, so we thought we’d run with that for the theme. After a little etsy snooping, I decided to steal the ‘Ahoy It’s a Boy’ tag line. Someone sells a wreath, that looks similar to mine (mine’s way cuter though), on etsy for $35. It’s worth making your own if you can find the ribbon half off at Hobby Lobby…or if that’s your thing.

IMG_3141

I love tulle! It’s inexpensive, easy to manipulate and it adds that extra pizzazz. The “runner” is really just some extra fabric we had from recovering my patio chairs. We framed the invitation, put some Advice for Mommy-to-Be {found here} and Wishes for Baby {found here} cards in sailboat cups from a garage sale.  My creative mom did all the flower arrangements, and we used the little journal as the guest book and a place to keep all the cards in. I saw the journal in a magazine and bought it immediately. The front says, “Dream. Explore. Discover.” – Mark Twain. Find it {here}. And those adorbs boats shoes are from grandma.

Ahoy_Entry

There aren’t many people in our family who get excited about baby shower games, so we had everyone fill their cards out and then my sister had to guess who wrote what. It was my favorite part and ended up being very touching. I’m sure she and her husband and baby D will treasure all that family advice.

IMG_3131

IMG_3132

Ahoy_Food

As a former home ec teacher, I’m a little embarrassed to say I ordered everything I was in charge of from Central Market. But oh was it worth it! Their catering department is super easy to work with and everything comes beautifully presented. The little food cards are from Paper Source. I bought plain white ones and stamped the blue crab on them to dress them up a bit.

Ahoy_Bar

There was a mimosa bar with grapefruit, orange and cranberry juices. We also had Perrier and fruit tea. The blue and white party straws were a hit!

IMG_3158

Ahoy_Decor

Above the mantle, we showcased the nautical candle holders and the large sail boat that was my dad’s. The nautical bunting was made by my grandma and I from a tutorial {here}. That adorable diaper cake was made by my cousin, and on the bottom left, I made the paper sailboat banner with some twine, tulle, and boats from etsy found {here}. The lady who made them was wonderful and threw in the anchors at no charge.

IMG_3194

IMG_3149

Ahoy_Dessert

On the dessert table, we had a nautical cake, sand dollar cookies laying on a tray of “sand” which was brown sugar, life saver mints, chocolate-covered strawberries and blue and white macaroons. The cake looks exactly like the picture I had in my head, and it tasted amazing! If you’re looking for a baker in Houston, I can’t recommend Shannon enough. It was a lemon cake with raspberry buttercream filling. I haven’t seen my sister eat that much sugar in seven months. It was worth it! The macaroons came from Sweet in CityCentre. The blue were earl grey with chocolate filling, white were almond and white with black spots were vanilla bean flavor. Yum yum yum.

IMG_3155

The wrapping paper has to match the theme, right? This paper is from Paper Source.

IMG_3272

She received some wonderful gifts, one of my favorites being the little pillow above, and it was a special day spent with all the women in our family. Lots of love to baby D.

xoxo,

Auntie Christie

The Pinterest planning board:

{all images original to KiKiMac}

7 thoughts on “Ahoy, It’s a Boy! Baby Shower

  1. Bunting always makes for a party, as do those striped straws. People always go crazy over them for some reason! You did a fantastic job. The food looks awesome, nice trick to order it—you’d already done so much work! And the baby boat shoes are adorable. Looks like a great shower. (PS – Hobby Lobby’s 50% off sales rock.)

    • Thank you! It was fun…and I’m in love with Paper Source too! They have the best marketing… You need to make this and this and this. I could stay in there all day long!

  2. Pingback: Cheers to 2013 | KiKiMac

Talk to me!

