Celebrate / Travel

Chicago Valentine

Thursday morning, E & I threw on our coats and boarded a plane headed to the great city of Chicago. We chose Chicago to celebrate the two greatest holidays: Valentine’s Day and my birthday, of course.

IMG_3350

The flight was quick and easy, and we were greeted by our driver at baggage claim. I always get a bit nauseous when I travel, so I’ve found it best to not hop into a stinky taxi immediately after a flight. The hotel set up the transportation arrangements, and I can’t recommend that enough.

IMG_3428

We stayed at the Waldorf Astoria in Chicago partly because Travel + Leisure ranked it the #1 Large City Hotel in the Continental U.S., and partly because they offered an excellent Black Friday deal. It was gorg.

IMG_3355

IMG_3356

The room was amazefest as well. Fireplace and huge bath tub. What more could you want?

WaldorfChicagoRoom

There were so many closets and drawers, I often forgot where I placed something. Not used to that!

RLfront

It was a short walk to Ralph Lauren’s restaurant, RL, where we indulged in a special Valentine’s Day lunch.

RL

RLtable

The servers were dressed in…you guessed it! Polo button-down shirts and Polo ties, and all of them were flamboyantly fabulous. RL is cozy and intimate and feels as though you’re in Ralph Lauren’s living room.

IMG_3421

E had the RL Burger.

IMG_3422

I had the Lobster Club {without bread}. The food was delicious, and the experience was wonderful. It’s pegged as a tourist trap, but I disagree.

IMG_3397 IMG_3405 IMG_3407

After our late lunch, we walked back to our hotel to relax before dinner. We actually made our way down to the spa and put in a little work out. Then it was time to try out the tub!

IMG_3432

The Waldorf offers Salvatore Ferragamo bath products and they smell divine.

RPM

Now if I’m being completely honest, Chicago was at the top of the list for one reason and one reason only. I love Giuliana & Bill. Love them. And I am not ashamed of it! RPM was the perfect spot for our first night in the city and to celebrate Valentine’s Day.

IMG_3452

RPMfood

Our server, in his snappy white jacket, was absolutely fantastic, as was the food. My dishes are pictured at the top {Lobster Caprese & Strozzapreti, which is Porcini & Pine Nut Pesto (gluten-free) homemade pasta}. E had the bottom dishes {Provolone-Stuffed Peppers & Special Prosciutto Ravioli}. The gluten-free pasta was seriously amazing and I’ve never had chunks of lobster like that.

IMG_3457

For dessert, we had the Tartufo {hazelnut gelato with a chocolate shell}. Yumsies. RPM made me love G & B even more…if that’s possible.

How did you celebrate the big day? I can’t wait to share the rest of the weekend! Check back soon.

xoxo,

Christie

3 thoughts on “Chicago Valentine

  1. Pingback: Valentine’s Day : Dinner Menu | KiKiMac

Talk to me!

