Celebrate / Travel

Chicago Birthday

While in Chicago, we also got to celebrate a little day I like to call my birthday. I am a lucky lucky girl because I crammed all of my favorite things into one day, and I got to do them with my favorite person.

WaldorfSpa

I started out the morning at the {Elysian Spa} at the Waldorf Astoria. The relaxation room was quite cozy, and I loved all the snacks!

IMG_3482

They have a green tea infused water and a vanilla bean infused water, along with mixed nuts and dried fruits such as kiwi and strawberry. Yum. The massage was perfect as well.

IMG_3490

Here’s a birthday girl pic! I love plaid just as much today as I did when I was five! After warming up by the fire, we were ready to brave the cold. It was time to eat.

IMG_3502

The Goddess and Grocer was just around the corner from our hotel. They offered just what we were looking for: a quick bite to hold us over until Afternoon Tea…and strength for shopping!

GoddessGrocer

The shopping in Chicago is unbelievable! I thought Houston had good shopping. Lucky for me, I found great sales at J. Crew and Lululemon. Happy Birthday!

IMG_3385 IMG_3387 IMG_3390 IMG_3393 IMG_3503 IMG_3546

By 2:30, it was time for Afternoon Tea at The Peninsula Hotel. As most of you know, Afternoon Tea is my favorite, and it’s supposed to be the best at The Peninsula.

ChicagoTea

ChicagoTeaE

E had the Traditional Afternoon Tea {pictured above}.

ChicagoTeaC

I had the Gluten-Free Afternoon Tea {pictured above}. So pretty, right? I know I’m usually all waterfalls and butterflies, but I have to give my real opinion. They, without notice, gave me a ham sandwich instead of a lobster sandwich, and a rock-hard chocolate chip cookie instead of a chocolate pot de creme. The service was atrocious and the food even worse. And they knew it was my birthday!

*Update: I got a call from The Peninsula after they received my letter explaining our Afternoon Tea experience. The person I spoke with was sincerely sorry, and a complimentary tea was offered to make up for the less-than-perfect experience.

IMG_3531

At least the tea was hot and we could warm up for a bit. It was also pretty cute to see all the little boys dressed up and eating mini hamburgers while their mums and sisters had tea.

IMG_3551

Luckily, dinner at Paris Club was spectacular. When we were seated, we were asked if it was a special occasion. “Your birthday? Let me bring over the champagne cart!” That’s what I’m talkin’ about.

Paris

IMG_3558

They offer a gluten-free menu, which I especially appreciate. I had the Sea Bass in Papillote and E had the New York Strip.

ParisClub

Next stop was the lounge on top of the John Hancock Building for a birthday dessert with a view.

JohnHancock

And just when I thought my birthday couldn’t possibly get any better, E got down on one knee and asked me marry him! This one will be hard to beat.

xoxo,

Christie

8 thoughts on “Chicago Birthday

  1. Pingback: Cheers to 2013 | KiKiMac

  2. Pingback: Gluten Free Afternoon Tea | Windsor Court Hotel | KiKiMac

Talk to me!

