Travel

A Day in Laguna Beach

Laguna Beach was the first stop on my mini Southern California road trip.

DSC_0096It’s a bright and sunny town filled with happy surfer kids color-blocked in neon. Charming little shops and palm trees line the roads.

DSC_0092I arrived just in time for lunch at Nick’s. Things at the airport took longer than expected, and although I was late for my reservation, Alex was so sweet and saved me a table on the patio with a killer view.

Nick's I had the Chilean sea bass with veggies (easy to order gluten free here), and it was much needed after my flight, Hertz debacle, and trip into Laguna.

DSC_0104 DSC_0110And since I was right next door, I went ahead and grabbed a dark chocolate gelato at Gelato Paradiso and enjoyed it in their pretty courtyard. Could this be why my wedding dress doesn’t fit?

DSC_0042Not too far down the South Coast Highway is the Surf & Sand Resort.

Surf_SandpoolI had a room overlooking the beach, and it was so relaxing and amazing to be able to hear the waves crashing all night long.

DSC_0005

Surf_Sandroom

DSC_0012Loved the bath products at Surf & Sand.

DSC_0030

Dress: Gap | Clutch + Necklace: Banana Republic

I had a few extra minutes before my dinner reservation to pop into a few cute stores in Laguna.

DSC_0057

{Tuvalu} was by far my fave. Packed to the brim with home furnishings + home decor goodies.

DSC_0086

DSC_0067

Laguna_shopping

DSC_0080 DSC_0083

I had dinner at 370 Common Kitchen + Drink, perched at a cozy high table next to the fireplace.

DSC_0089 DSC_0107 DSC_0108

It’s got a cool, dark atmosphere inside and all of the gluten free options were clearly marked on the menu. I went with the salmon and fries. Both were delicious and a little bit different.

DSC_0030The next morning I was up bright and early. Before my trip to Huntington Beach, I wanted to have a large breakfast to hold me over throughout the morning. Boy did I get it! Splashes, the restaurant at Surf & San, offers gluten free + sugar free mesquite flour pancakes with apricot coulis. Yes please. I enjoyed my breakfast overlooking the ocean and beach below. Perfect way to start the day!

Have you ever been to Laguna Beach? Where did you stay?

xoxo,

Christie

5 thoughts on “A Day in Laguna Beach

  1. Pingback: Cheers to 2013 | KiKiMac

Talk to me!

