Travel

A Day in Huntington Beach

Huntington Beach was my second stop on my mini Southern California road trip.

{Grey Likes Weddings} is one of my absolute favorite blogs, and when I heard Summer Watkins, stylist + curator of Grey Likes Weddings, was hosting a styling workshop, I just had to go. I learned so much (will definitely be using some of her tips for our wedding), and it was super fun to be around others who want to photograph everything…all the time. Just like me.

DSC_0246

Even though there’s a slim to none chance my photos from the shoot will be published on Grey Likes Weddings (I was the only one who wasn’t a professional wedding photographer), I’m still holding off putting them on the blog just in case Lady Grey chooses a photo of mine (please please please choose mine!). Above is a teaser to hold you over.

Slater's5050For dinner, I went to Slater’s 50/50 and had a huge burger because I was starving…and they have gluten-free buns on their menu. That will always get me in the door.

DSC_0040

The Shorebreak Hotel in Huntington Beach was such an awesome place to stay. First of all, I love a hotel with an authentic theme. Huntington Beach is a surfer town, and the Shorebreak Hotel couldn’t be more surfer-ish.

DSC_0066

Shorbreak_Hotel_Decor

Second, all of the employees at Shorebreak were so friendly and wonderful. My room was clean, and I loved the soft bed, large shower, and sweet-smelling LATHER bath amenities. Love all the way around.

Shorebreak_room They even gave me a complimentary bottle of wine!

DSC_0089After settling in, I walked out to the Huntington Beach pier just in time to see the sunset.

DSC_0010 DSC_0013 DSC_0019 DSC_0031 DSC_0038

On my way back to the hotel, I walked by a bakery and decided to take a shot and see if they had anything gluten free.

DSC_0054

Lucked out! Baguetier had several gluten-free options (and some great kids working the counter that were so obviously huge fans of the place).

Baguetier

DSC_0050

A congo bar and glass of wine was the best way to end the day!

DSC_0002 DSC_0010

The next morning I had breakfast at Green St. Cafe. OHHHHMYGOOOODNESS. That waffle. It was the best waffle I’ve ever had in my life. And it was gluten free. I’d make another trip to Huntington Beach just to have that waffle again. Seriously.

Next up: Santa Barbara. Stay tuned!

xoxo,

Christie

4 thoughts on “A Day in Huntington Beach

  1. Pingback: Secrets of a Stylist | KiKiMac

  2. Pingback: Cheers to 2013 | KiKiMac

Talk to me!

