Travel

San Ysidro Ranch | Lunch with The Kennedys

Okay, okay. I didn’t actually have lunch with the Kennedys. But JFK and Jackie did honeymoon at the San Ysidro Ranch, and if I’d been there just 60 years earlier, I’m sure we would have eaten lunch together.

DSC_0032

The drive through quaint Montecito and along the curvy road to the San Ysidro Ranch is insanely gorgeous and makes you feel as if you’re in another world. Then, you hang a right and drive onto the property, and it’s almost unbelievable how beautiful it is.

DSC_0057I was seated at a table on the patio upstairs. The patio is surrounded by glass windows so you have an unobstructed view of the property. Flowers were planted on the inside and outside of the glass encouraging hummingbirds to make a visit. It was perfect.

DSC_0041To start, I had a blood orange margarita. Why not?

DSC_0047The pan seared Halibut with purple potatoes and asparagus hit the spot. But, I still needed dessert. My only gluten free choices were different flavors of sorbet. After hearing that, I quickly became deflated. Then I was told they had a dark chocolate sorbet. Have you ever heard of such a thing? Usually sorbets are fruity, which I can totally pass on. Well, the dark chocolate sorbet was thick, fluffy, and flavorful, and one scoop was all I needed to feel completely satisfied.

SanYsidroRanchAfter lunch, I was encouraged to walk the grounds and check out their garden. So amazing.

DSC_0058 DSC_0073 DSC_0085 DSC_0094 DSC_0095 DSC_0099 DSC_0102

DSC_0104 DSC_0109 DSC_0113

Now I just need to talk E into a weekend getaway!

xoxo,

Christie

Talk to me!

