Celebrate

Cocktails + Desserts // Celebration

Last night, E and I hosted a wine donation party benefiting the South Texas Arthritis Foundation.

wine

The donated bottles of wine will be used for the wine pull and live auction at the Houston Bone Bash coming up in October. I’ve had rheumatoid arthritis since the age of five, and this is the first time in my life I’ve really put some effort into fundraising and raising awareness. In the past, I always felt like fundraising for your own benefit was kind of like voting for yourself for prom queen. On the other hand, if I’m not passionate about raising awareness, why should someone without the disease care about it?

table1

E and I volunteered at the Kids Get Arthritis Too Breakfast with Santa, and I attended the Bone Bash last year, but asking our closest family + friends to help as well made it much more personal. To everyone who came to the party last night and donated wine, I thank you from the bottom of my heart. It really meant the world to me to have you here supporting the Arthritis Foundation – and me.

michaelscookiejar

There were also two local businesses, Michael’s Cookie Jar and Ooh La La, that donated the beautiful and yummy desserts for the occasion. Michael, of Michael’s Cookie Jar, and Vanessa, of Ooh La La, were so unbelievably kind, and jumped at the chance to help. Both places will most definitely be catering all of my desserts in the future!

sweets

Cocktails + Desserts was such a fun theme to plan the party around.

Here’s more from the dessert table…

To make things easy, we had a craft-your-own-cocktail bar.

barsetup

tassel

We had a great time, and I’ve already decided on our theme for next year…

champagne

If you couldn’t make it to the party, but would still like to donate a bottle of wine, that would be wonderful! And if you want to go to the coolest Halloween party ever at chic Hotel ZaZa, head over {here} to purchase tickets. All of your donations are tax deductible and go to help the nearly one million adults and 5,000 children in the Houston area affected by arthritis. We hope to see you there!

xoxo,

Christie

 

all images original to KiKiMac

8 thoughts on “Cocktails + Desserts // Celebration

  1. Hey! Seems like you did a great job in hosting that event. I love your taste in decor. I also like the idea of the make-your-own cocktail area. Not sure if it will work for all markets here in the PH but it might work for my girl friends! Continue sharing your design experiences please 🙂

  2. Pingback: Cocktails + Desserts // Party Prep | KiKiMac

  3. Pingback: Weekend Recap {pillows fall breakfast} | KiKiMac

  4. Pingback: Cheers to 2013 | KiKiMac

Talk to me!

