Houston, TX

A Tiny Boxwood’s Morning

E and I went to mass early on Sunday, so we were ready to brunch before the masses lined up at Tiny Boxwood’s.

menuIf you haven’t been, you simply must. The restaurant is attached to the Thompson + Hanson nursery, and it’s just the most gorgeous atmosphere. Inside, we were greeted with a large chalkboard menu with the daily specials. After ordering at the counter with the most patient and friendly man I’ve ever encountered, we poured two coffees and took a seat inside. The decor is simple, yet elegant. So French. I’m in love with their wicker chairs. I tried to find out where they’re from: an unknown source in France. Hmm. Maybe we’ll be going a different chair route.

The food is fresh and delightful. I’m usually not crazy about migas, but my friend at the register prompted me towards ordering that since I needed mine to be gluten free. E had the Mother’s breakfast with a side of scrambled. Both of our dishes were unique and delicious. I was so jealous of E’s whipped butter and fresh strawberry jam, I asked for a side of each to bring home so I could enjoy it with gluten-free bread. Yum.

After brunch, we strolled across the lawn to the nursery and made our way into the little shop bursting with festive holiday decor.

Two of those pine cone Christmas trees {top right} made their way home with us!

pastriesThe absolute only time I’d say to stay away from Tiny Boxwood’s is if you’re going through gluten withdrawals: mouthwatering buttery pastries are piled all around. It’s not for the weak. Have you been? What’s your favorite thing to order?

xoxo,

Christie

{all images original to KiKiMac via my iPhone}

4 thoughts on “A Tiny Boxwood’s Morning

  1. Pingback: Dish Society | Brunch | KiKiMac

Talk to me!

