Celebrate / Houston, TX

Valentine’s Day Date Ideas // Houston

feb14ideas

While I am the biggest Valentine’s Day fan, I am not a big fan of going out to eat on Valentine’s Day…or the day before…or the day after. It’s impersonal: restaurants tend to have fixed menus and rush you out the door. With that being said, I still think it’s a fun holiday to celebrate! Below are ideas for some different Valentine’s dates around Houston {most can be altered a bit to work in your zip code if you aren’t in Houston!}…

1. My favorite: dinner at home. Which is most likely how E and I will be celebrating this year. Set a pretty table, open a good bottle of wine and relax. If your husband is as good of a chef as mine is, this date idea is a no brainer! Menu to come soon. *Image via Julie Blanner, Coordinately Yours

2. Sur la Table Date Night Cooking Class. E gifted me one of these cooking classes for Christmas one year {read more about it here}, and it was so fun! And you can bring in your own wine! The menu for this particular class sounds delicious: Pan-Seared Scallops with Prosecco Butter Sauce, Seared New York Strip Steak with Chianti-Red Wine Sauce, Shaved Fennel and Parmesan Salad, and Chocolate-Orange Pot de Crème. That might just be our menu for our dinner at home.

Sign up quickly if you’re interested!  The earlier Date Night classes have sold out, and seats are only available from 9:30-11:30 pm on 2/14 and 2/15 at the CityCentre location. It’s also offered from 10 pm -12 am 2/14 at the River Oaks location. $79/ person.  {Adaptation: have a private chef come into your home for a cooking lesson, or take a  cooking class offered in your area} *Image via KiKiMac

3. Champagne + Dessert at The Tasting Room. This place has a great atmosphere whether it’s your first date, or your 10th Valentine’s Day together. I love the idea of going out for dessert and champagne because obviously, it’s cheaper, and it’s fun to get out of the house if you’re planning on staying in for dinner. The Tasting Room used to be my favorite spot for an after-work glass of wine. When I had to start staying away from gluten, I sort of avoided it because I knew I wouldn’t be able to say no to their pizzas! Not anymore! They have updated their menus to list lots of gluten-free friendly foods. The nutella cake with peanut butter Chantilly cream and chocolate is to die for! Service is also excellent. Live music. {Adaptation for another city: dessert + champagne at a hip spot} *Image via The Tasting Room

4. A breakfast picnic at Waterwall Park. This park changes names frequently, so I’m leaving it as Waterwall Park. A little cheesy, yes. But I’ve wanted to do it for a looong time. So it’s on my list. Pastries and coffee. A few photo snaps. A good option on Saturday morning to drag out the best holiday ever. It’s near the Nordstrom parking garage in the Galleria. {Adaption for another city: breakfast picnic in a pretty park near home} *Image via Kristen Clayville via Julie Blanner, Coordinately Yours

5. Dinner at Max’s Wine Dive. I know I said I’m not a fan of going out to dinner on Valentine’s Day, but hear me out. Max’s gives you four choices: their regular menu, a three-course prix fixe menu, or two different to-go packages. And they offer gluten-free choices! The thing about Max’s is that they’re always busy, and they never rush. So why would it be different on Valentine’s Day? I would definitely book a table if you’re interested. *Image via Max’s Wine Dive

Which idea do you like best? Any idea what your plans are for Valentine’s Day?

xoxo,

Christie

2 thoughts on “Valentine’s Day Date Ideas // Houston

  1. Pingback: Will You Be My Valentine | Outfit | KiKiMac

  2. Pingback: My Birthday Celebration | KiKiMac

Talk to me!

