Travel

Carmo | Lunchtime in NOLA

I have to admit, I was nervous about finding gluten-free food in the land of po’ boys and fried seafood. But my sweet husband did a search for me, and by night one, I had a long list of options near the convention center [where I was working and near my hotel]. I decided to take a quick walk to Carmo for lunch my first day.

childrens museumblue doorsCarmo is a tropical café on Julia Street, which borders the convention center. It’s a lovely street with darling restaurants, art galleries, and the blue-shuttered Louisiana Children’s Museum.

Carmo signAs soon as you walk in, you can feel the warmth and hear the Reggae music playing. There’s a small open kitchen, and you order at the counter. The staff is friendly and efficient. It reminded me of Mermaids Café, one of my favorite places on Kauai.

Carmo diningRicoPao de queijo I ordered the Rico {An open-faced, breadless sandwich made of a grilled plantain patty topped with melted cheese, spicy smoked ‘n’ pulled pork, salsa fresca, avocado and tangy sweet spicy “Rico” sauce. Served with organic greens drizzled with mango vinaigrette.} and Pao de Queijo {Brazilian Cheese Bread}.

Yes, it was every bit as good as it sounds. And that Brazilian Cheese Bread? Oh my goodness. Heaven. Obviously, I went back for the same exact lunch on day two. Other places that offer gluten free options that sounded great: Café AdelaideGreen Goddess and Meals from the Heart.

On the last day, I had a juicy burger {without bun} from ROOT, which also accommodates gluten-free diets {my post from dinner there will be coming soon!}.

Have you had any great gluten-free meals in New Orleans?

xoxo,

Christie

Carmo | 527 Julia Street | New Orleans

{all images original to KiKiMac – taken with my iPhone, so please excuse the fuzziness!}

One thought on “Carmo | Lunchtime in NOLA

Talk to me!

