Home

Home Update: The Door Project

Front Door

Just in case you thought E and I were up to something exciting during my absence, I’m here to crush your fantasies. What’s new? Our doors! I guess once you get married and own a home, new doors become exciting. At least for me they are.

KiKiMac Front DoorI’ve been lusting over a solid navy blue door since we moved into our house almost a year ago. There’s just something about a solid painted door that gets me. Originally, the look I was going for included a brass lockset, but they are not easy to find {thanks for nothing, Pinterest!}. I’m still on the hunt for a chic brass door knocker.

And since we were already door shopping, I figured it was about time to replace the back door as well…

KiKiMac Back Door - BeforeAbove is a photo of our back door taken last summer. The house came with a cheap door with thin glass panes, and it had seen better days. I didn’t have anything in particular in mind for the back door, so I decided to go to GlassCraft and just see what I could find.

Door Project_patio_after

And I fell in love with this mahogany door with beveled glass panes. It’s gorgeous next to our white walls, and it amazes me how much noise it blocks out versus our old door. You can also see our beautiful new windows in this photo. Such a difference!

Door Project_Back_After_inside

Mia had to get in the photo. She’s such a lady!

There are a lot of decisions that go into choosing new doors. After each home update project, I feel like I could write a book on all of the things we’ve learned! It’s been fun though, and I am constantly reminding myself that it’s a never-ending process. To see where we started, read [this post].

And if you want more home inspiration, follow my Pinterest board…

Have you made any home updates lately?

xoxo,

Christie

{All images original to KiKiMac}

6 thoughts on “Home Update: The Door Project

    • thanks heather! we still need a light fixture in our dining room. i keep saying that’s next, and then buy something else! it is fun, but it’s SO expensive!

  1. I love the doors so much! They are perfect. I need to get paintings… we have no art on our walls (can explain that in person) – think I may pull the trigger on one piece this weekend. And lots of spring cleaning! Your house looks amazing.

Talk to me!

