Travel

Weekend in Boston | Day Three

On our third day in Boston, we headed back over to the South End to grab a quick pastry at Flour, and then attend mass at the Cathedral.

flour pastriesIt was raining, so we quickly dashed into Flour. It’s a bright and cheerful spot and I just love their logo with the egg cracking! E ordered the cheddar scallion scone, and I ordered the lemon + coconut gluten-free muffin and almond macaroon. My muffin was out of this world with huge chunks of lemon and toasted coconut on top. And it was huge! I saved the almond macaroon for a snack. It was super delicious and unlike anything I’d ever had {not a typical macaroon}. If you eat gluten free, you definitely need to try their baked goods!

cathedral duskPalm Sunday mass at the Cathedral of the Holy Cross was lovely. It’s beautiful inside and was a special treat for us to see. We also liked that it was at 11:30 am, so we could sleep in a little bit!

palm sun 2 palm sunWe raced over to Newbury St., but still missed our brunch reservation by fifteen minutes. Sonsie is a popular place, so we ended up waiting 30 minutes for a table. It was definitely worth it.

Sonsiebistro tablesI was kind of obsessed with their Desperate Housewives-esque paintings.

pillsThis shot is blurry, but I had to show the pill painting to give you the full effect.

orange pink and orange purple blue and purpleThe food was every bit as good as the artwork. It was my favorite meal of our trip.

DSC_0538 DSC_0546I had the smoked salmon with gluten-free toast. Their gluten-free menu had about a dozen options I was torn between: Everything sounded delicious. Such simple + fresh ingredients made this dish killer. And if I had had any room for dessert, I would have had a difficult time choosing between those as well.

DSC_0544E had the firm baked eggs with Irish bacon and home fries.

fire station

After brunch, we walked around Newbury Street for a little bit, then headed back to our hotel to change out of our church clothes. E wanted to find a bar so he could watch the Masters, and I wanted to hit up the Beacon Hill shops again, so on we went.

spring flowers state house c e 3bellevue scollay squaremasters scollay sq barWe finished watching the Masters over at Scollay Square, a pretty little place right next to our hotel, XV Beacon.

For our last night out, we decided to go to the North End to experience the Little Italy of Boston. We went during our first day in town, and it was considerably different at night. I’m glad we were able to experience it! We originally had a reservation at Strega, but to be honest, I wasn’t overly impressed with any of our Boston dinners, and they were quite expensive, so we cancelled our reservation, and went for a low-key pizza + wine night. Benevento’s booked us a last-minute reservation and we were seated immediately. Many restaurants in the North End have gluten-free pizza on their menu, but be sure to call ahead because I found that a few had sold out for the day by the time we were ready for dinner.

BeneventosBenevento’s offers gluten-free garlic bread, pizza and pasta. I had to try the garlic bread, which was more of a dry,  pita-type bread, and I could have skipped it. The pizza on the other hand, was awesome. They cook the gluten-free pizza in its own foil pan, and mine technically wasn’t cooked through on the bottom, but I still devoured it. So much flavor. E ate his entire pizza, so I know it was good.

pizza 2 pizzaBenevento’s was the perfect casual spot to end our Boston trip. We walked the streets of the North End and grabbed a quick gelato before heading back to Beacon Hill.

mercatoAnd I’m including this photo above just because I liked the building and sign so much! I’ve got the unique + fabulous Beacon Hill shops coming up soon!

xoxo,

Christie

{all images original to KiKiMac}

6 thoughts on “Weekend in Boston | Day Three

    • hey deanna!! thanks! i’ll have to check out your travel posts. i actually love traveling alone! although, i always end up missing my husband pretty soon into the trip. ha!

Talk to me!

